I'll get around to it eventually…

Maybe its the fact that its 3 in the morning on my three day week-end, but I feel like updating. Unfortunately, all I can think of is K-ON! and Touhou

Brilliant…
(Warning, spoilers may be present in this post)e
Lets start with the K-ON, shall we?

Something I noticed yesterday was that since entering university, I’ve been watching a lot more anime (the fact that’s I’ve joined two clubs that have anime nights might help that). This has caused more ear worms that I’ve taken note of (http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/EarWorm – this is what I mean by “ear worm”), for this year.
Between now and last september I can name at least three that got on my nerves:
The first is Caramelldansen (Don’t care about spelling, still don’t like it or that stupid dance)
The second is the opening theme to Seitokai Yakuindomo, something a friend of mine has had tons of fun with
The third is the opening to Fude pen boru pen, a song from K-ON (which translates at Calligraphy pen Ballpoint pen, or something like that)

While there have been others (mainly K-ON songs), those three stuck out because of how irritating they are.

Next is something I came across when browsing fan-art:

They're never gonna let her live this down, are they?

For those who don’t know (why not?) , this is a reference to their first performance. Mio is shy, and was a bag of nerves before the show. This wasn’t helped by being made the vocalist almost last minute because Yui lost her voice from over-practice. She seemed to calm down when the performance started. When they began to leave the stage, Mio tripped over her own bass lead and managed to flash the entire audience, an act in which gave her a fan club. This moment is brought again in later episodes and does little for her enthusiasm before a performance. Poor Mio.

Next is Touhou.

I was first (properly) introduced to the Touhou series when Nakateleeli did his Touhou Mother lets play. At uni, a friend gave me most of them, and I’ve loved them since. Why?

The characters. Read any conversation in game, they are brilliant as most seem to have a generous pince of insanity with them and I swear that a couple of them have the two conversationalists talking two separate conversations, its brilliant!

Wait, I already said that.

Anyway, the games are renown for two things:
First is difficulty. The games aren’t the easiest in the world and they have a difficulty called insane, for a reason
Second is the cast. It seems that everyone is female except for one person, who doesn’t appear very often at all.

The games are not without their references, two of which go to Jojo’s bizarre adventure. Something I should really go and watch at some point.

So, I’ve had two topics this time, so lets end on something which combines them both:

Clockwise from top left: Yuugi Hoshiguma (as Ritsu), Kogasa Tatara (as Yui), Byakuren Hijiri (as Tsumugi), Youmu Konpaku (as Azusa), Reisen Udongein Inaba (as Mio)

For those who can’t tell, they’ve made these Touhou characters look like the K-ON main characters, without making them cosplay (you may have to compare the image to official art to notice what I’m on about)

Leave a comment